Wednesday, March 28, 2012


FURTHER INFORMATION:        ARIEL CARMONA JR. (626) 914-8872, MARGARET O’NEIL (626) 914-8588


Citrus College Journalism Students Win Awards at State Convention; Clarion Wins Prestigious ‘Pacesetter’ Award
by Ariel Carmona Jr.

Citrus College journalism students were honored with multiple awards at the 57th annual Journalism Association of Community Colleges (JACC) state conference held March 22-24 at the Burbank Marriott Hotel, where the Clarion newspaper was named a “Pacesetter” for program excellence.

Additionally, both the Clarion and website won General Excellence awards, the top JACC honors in student publications.

Journalism professor and Clarion Faculty Advisor Meg O’Neil said the climactic moment came Saturday night when the student produced newspaper was named one of the top four colleges in the state. Citrus College has won the Pacesetter four times since 1998. The last time Citrus College won community college journalism’s highest honor was in 2008.

“Once again JACC has provided Citrus College students with an outstanding array of teaching and learning opportunities,” said O’Neil. “Team Clarion learned from the experts about careers in media and proved to themselves and to everyone else that they, too, are capable of doing exemplary work,” she said.

Students competed as individuals in three categories: mail-in, bring-in and on-the-spot.

In the mail-in category, spring Editor in Chief Sydney Presley took first place in column writing. Austin Paul Adamson won first place for critical review. Natalie Miranda won first place in news writing, while Alyssa Gibbs took third place honors in editorial writing.  Honorable mentions went to Emily Rios for inside page layout, and to Chia Chen and Sherry Roldan for web news broadcast video.

The bring-in category winners were Lauren Sigala, who took honorable mention in photography, while a first place award for online advertisement went to Robert Diaz.

The on-the-spot category winners included: Martin Cabrera, honorable mention for news writing, Ryan Gomez, third place for feature writing; and David Tate, third place for opinion writing and honorable mention for copy editing. Third place Shannon Vigil for editorial cartoon, Danielle Rodriguez, honorable mention for news photo. Andrew Paul Bettridge honorable mention for feature photo, and Sydney Presley third place in news judgment/layout.  

“It’s fantastic that our students have once again distinguished themselves among the best in the state,” said Dr. Geraldine M. Perri, superintendent/president of Citrus College, “Professor O’Neil’s leadership has been instrumental in molding our students into professionals in the evolving field of media and we are very proud of the program’s achievements.”

Mrs. Joanne Montgomery, president of the Citrus Community College District Board of Trustees, is also cognizant of the importance of preparation and hard work in success. “The Clarion has been a consistent source of pride for the Citrus College community, and it is encouraging to see this year’s staff continue that legacy.”

The convention this year was attended by 553 journalism students from 45 community colleges throughout the state.





FURTHER INFORMATION:        ARIEL CARMONA JR. (626) 914-8872,  MARGARET O’NEIL (626) 914-8588