Accordion Content
  

Writing Center workshops are presented using the Zoom video communications application through fall 2020.

  • APA FORMAT : Learn APA formatting basics as well as how to cite sources in APA format. APA format is generally used for courses like psychology, speech, and STEM.

  • BRAINSTORM and OUTLINE : Learn how to brainstorm before writing (prewriting) and create MLA formatted outlines.

  • CONCLUSION PARAGRAPHS : Learn how to conclude an essay by writing a thought-provoking conclusion paragraph.

  • EDIT and PROOFREAD : Learn how to use editing and proofreading techniques to address essay feedback.

  • INTEGRATING SOURCES : Learn how to avoid plagiarism and cite sources by integrating quotes, paraphrases, and summaries in an essay.

  • INTRODUCTION PARAGRAPHS : Learn how to write compelling introduction paragraphs, including the hook and bridge.

  • LITERARY CRITICISMS : Learn how to use literary criticisms in literary analysis essays.

  • LITERARY DEVICES : Learn how to identify literary devices in college level texts.

  • MLA FORMAT : Learn MLA formatting basics as well as how to cite sources in MLA format. MLA format is generally used for courses like English.

  • PARAGRAPH WRITING : Learn how to create variety in paragraphs by using simple, compound, and complex sentences.

  • READING STRATEGIES : Learn how to utilize reading strategies, such as annotation techniques, for reading comprehension and research.

  • RESEARCH PAPER : Learn how to conduct research properly and organize a research paper.

  • SENTENCE ERRORS : Learn how to identify and fix fragments, run-ons, and comma splices.

  • SENTENCE VARIETY : Learn how to create variety in paragraphs by using simple, compound, and complex sentences.

  • THESIS STATEMENT : Learn how to write clear and concise thesis statements that answer an essay prompt.

Click here to download a PDF copy of the workshops offered with descriptions.

Click here to sign up for a workshop.

  
  • Thursday, September 24
    Reading Strategies
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Friday, September 25
    Brainstorm and Outline
    11 a.m. to 12 p.m.

  • Monday, September 28
    Literary Criticism
    1:30 pm. to 2:30 p.m.

  • Thursday, October 1
    APA Format
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Friday, October 2
    Reading Strategies
    11 a.m. to 12 p.m.

  • Monday, October 5
    Integrating Sources
    1:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

  • Tuesday, October 6
    Thesis Statements
    4 p.m. to 5 p.m.

  • Wednesday, October 7
    MLA Format
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Thursday, October 8
    Intro. Paragraph
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Friday, October 9
    Brainstorm and Outline
    11 a.m. to 12 p.m.

  • Monday, October 12
    Body Paragraphs
    1:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

  • Tuesday, October 13
    APA Format
    4 p.m. to 5 p.m.

  • Wednesday, October 14
    Literary Devices
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Thursday, October 15
    Edit and Proofread
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Friday, October 16
    Research
    11 a.m. to 12 p.m.

  • Monday, October 19
    Conclusion Paragraph
    1:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

  • Tuesday, October 20
    Integrating Sources
    4 p.m. to 5 p.m.

  • Wednesday, October 21
    Sentence Errors
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Thursday, October 22
    Literary Criticism
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Friday, October 23
    Edit and Proofread
    11 a.m. to 12 p.m.

  • Monday, October 26
    Research
    1:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

  • Tuesday, October 27
    Sentence Variety
    4 p.m. to 5 p.m.

  • Wednesday, October 28
    Reading Strategies
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Thursday, October 29
    MLA Format
    10 a.m. to 11 a.m.

  • Friday, October 30
    Conclusion Paragraph
    11 a.m. to 12 p.m.

All Zoom sessions happen on https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/97780555526

Click here to download list of the workshops offered with descriptions.

Click here to sign up for a workshop.

Back To Top